September 14-20 is Child Passenger Safety Week, which seeks to raise awareness of the dangers young children face when they aren’t properly secured in a vehicle during a car accident. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), car accidents are the leading cause of death among children under the age of 13. In fact, nearly 45% of children who died in car accidents in 2012 (the most recent data on this subject) weren’t properly secured in the vehicle.
According to California law, all children must be properly restrained in a car seat in the back seat of the car until they are 8 years old and 4 foot 9 inches or taller. At this point, children no longer need a car seat, but they must still ride in the back and be properly secured with a lap/shoulder seat belt.
As part of Child Passenger Safety Week, the California Highway Patrol (CHP) is conducting car seat checks to ensure your children are being properly secured in your vehicle. This important safety step can impact whether your child survives a serious car accident.
In addition, the CHP recommends several safety tips to make sure you make the appropriate car seat selection and install it properly in your vehicle:
- Choose a car seat that is intended for use with your child’s age and size, and make sure the car seat fits properly in your vehicle
- Make sure your children use the car seat every time they’re in the vehicle
- Read the car seat manufacturer’s instructions as well as our vehicle owner’s manual to learn how to properly install the car seat in your vehicle; check for height and weight limits to make sure it is appropriate for your child
- Keep your child in the car seat for as long as the child still meets the manufacturer’s height and weight specifications
- Don’t let your child ride in the front seat until age 12 at the earliest
You can contact your local CHP office to have your car seat inspected by a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician.
If your child has been injured in a car accident caused by the negligence of another driver, you may be entitled to recover compensation for your child’s damages. Mickey Fine has been fighting for the rights of injured victims in the Bakersfield area for more than 25 years, and he’ll stand by your side every step of the way to help you recover the compensation your child deserves.
Please contact the Law Offices of Mickey Fine today to schedule a free car accident consultation. Mr. Fine serves clients in Bakersfield, California.