Any time you get into your car, you’re running the risk of being involved in a car accident. There are many drivers on the road in Bakersfield, and the slightest lapse in judgment or concentration on the part of another driver can have devastating consequences for you.
Unfortunately, in a recent report compiled by state insurance departments, California ranked 47th in the country with regard to auto insurance requirements mandated by law and driver compliance to these laws. This means there’s a significant chance that the damages you incur in a car accident won’t be covered by the other driver’s insurance.
California law mandates the following minimum insurance coverage for all drivers:
- $15,000/person in bodily injury coverage
- $30,000/accident in bodily injury coverage
- $5,000/accident in property damage coverage
These figures are significantly lower than the minimum coverage requirements mandated by many other states, which is one of the reasons why California was ranked 47th in this study. It’s highly possible that you’re damages won’t be entirely covered if you’re injured in a car accident caused by a driver who only has the minimum coverage required by law. In addition, the study estimates that nearly 15% of all California drivers don’t have any insurance coverage, a situation that would create even greater financial hardships for you in the event of an accident.
If you’ve been injured in a car accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver, it’s critical to work with an experienced lawyer who can make sure your rights are protected. Mickey Fine has been handling car accident cases for individuals in Bakersfield for more than 25 years, and he’ll fight aggressively to help you maximize the value of your compensation.
Please contact the Law Offices of Mickey Fine using the form at the right side of the page or call (661) 333-3333today to schedule your free car accident consultation. Mr. Fine serves clients in Bakersfield, California.